Vlookup is only pulling the first occurance. INDEX? How?!

davejackson

Problem I am facing: Vlookup returns a value based only on the first occurrence of the lookup_value.

Based on the below example, when entering the vlookup formula into column C of Sheet2, using the corresponding column B value as the lookup_value, all three pull $2,352 - the first occurrence of Acct # 1401 in Sheet1.

Sheet1 ~ my reference table
A B C
Investment ID Acct # $ Value
00001 1401 2,352
00001 1500 5,856
00001 1600 2,147
00002 1401 1,506
00002 1621 525
00002 1701 100
00003 1401 900
00003 1421 8,568
00003 1450 9,656

Sheet2 ~ I'm writing the vlookup formula in column C
A B C
Investment ID Acct # $ Value
00001 1401
00002 1401
00003 1401

How can I write a formula to pull the $ value based on the Acct # (col B) AND investment ID (col A)?

Please note that I have no prior experience with the INDEX function, so I would greatly appreciate it if you keep that in mind when providing me with a response :)

Thanks!
Dave

Excel Facts

When they said...
When they said you are going to "Excel at life", they meant you "will be doing Excel your whole life".
Hello Dave, welcome to MrExcel

One way would be to use LOOKUP like this in sheet2 C2 copied down

=LOOKUP(2,1/((Sheet1!A$2:A$100=A2)*(Sheet1!B$2:B$100=B2)),Sheet1!C$2:C$100)

Upvote 0
You could write an array:

I would name the a2:a10, b2:b10, and c2:c10 ranges, on sheet1.....(invest, acct, amount)...respectively.

Then enter this formula on sheet2!c2:

=sum((invest=sheet2!a2)*(acct=sheet2!b2)*(amount))

hit ctr-shift-enter to enter the formula.

Regards,

Keith W.

Upvote 0
You could write an array:

I would name the a2:a10, b2:b10, and c2:c10 ranges, on sheet1.....(invest, acct, amount)...respectively.

Then enter this formula on sheet2!c2:

=sum((invest=sheet2!a2)*(acct=sheet2!b2)*(amount))

hit ctr-shift-enter to enter the formula.

Regards,

Keith W.

Hello Dave, welcome to MrExcel