Help with Formulas/ if- or v look ups

Emmaj1985

Hi all,

Desperate for help before I launch my computer out the window... I am self taught on spreadsheets.. I am getting there but im struggling with one thing.

I don't know what formula-code I need to input into my spreadsheet. When I change the date I want the information associated with the date on display to disappear. and when I put that date back I want that information to come back. Hope you understand what im trying to explain.

Can anyone please explain what I need to do.

Many Thanks

Excel Facts

Formula for Yesterday
Name Manager, New Name. Yesterday =TODAY()-1. OK. Then, use =YESTERDAY in any cell. Tomorrow could be =TODAY()+1.
I think you will need an IF formula used in a Conditional Formatting box.

If your formula is TRUE then you can change the color of the text to be white so it essentially disappears. Otherwise it will be the normal font color.

That is the quickest way I can think of to do this and not lose the data.

Upvote 0
Welcome to the Board!

I think we need more details.

You mention "information associated with the data".
So is there some sort of table with information that you want to look up?
If so, how is it structured?

If you have your date in the left-most column of your lookup table, and the information you want to return in the columns to the right of the date in the same row, then you can use a VLOOKUP function wrapped in an IFERROR function to do what you want, for example:
Code:
=IFERROR(VLOOKUP(A3,LookupRange,2,0),"")
So, if it finds a match, it returns the 2nd column from your lookup range.
If it does not find a match (because you blanked out cell A3, it will return nothing).

Upvote 0
Hi Emma,

Some more info I think - when you change the data... what is this? a drop down? just a cell? any one of a range of cells?

The date related data - is this a list where several rows could match? is it a table with a single row or column for each date?