Stop or at least catch Students Cheating on Excel -

jcmckeon

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello All,

I'm an adjunct instructor. My Excel tests and homework are "shared". Usually I can catch them when I review the formulas because I recognize the same formula error or weird spelling.

Is there anyway stop sharing files especially during a test. I just had a case where one student emailed his test to another student during the test. I found them out and...well...things didn't work out so well for them.

What ideas do you have to keep track of whether they email during a test or open the file after it was emailed to them.

I'm open to any and all suggestions to shut this sh*t down.

Thank you in advance for your help.

Excel Facts

What did Pito Salas invent?
Pito Salas, working for Lotus, popularized what would become to be pivot tables. It was released as Lotus Improv in 1989.
Cross posted https://www.excelforum.com/excel-pr...229155-stop-student-cheating.html#post4891007

Cross-Posting
While we do not prohibit Cross-Posting on this site, we do ask that you please mention you are doing so and provide links in each of the threads pointing to the other thread (see rule 13 here along with the explanation: Forum Rules).
This way, other members can see what has already been done in regards to a question, and do not waste time working on a question that may already be answered.

Upvote 0
Hi J, I sympathize with you :)

I was first thinking you to turn off the wifi, but I'm pretty sure some will have a decent data subscription on their phones. If they're really poor though, this will work :)

Are they using their own computers or the school? If the school's, easy - monitor the internet activity and get those b******s :)

But how about creating a trick question? Something that requires a personalized answer, not just a simple vlookup. It's going to be like in literature class, if you see the sentence twice, they cheated.