=$B2 not working how I expect

Chicken Champ

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2019
Messages
3
I'm not really sure what to call my problem, probably something very easy to look up if I knew what to call this.

I have a sheet where column and row labels are the same values in the same order (B column is Mike, 2 row is Mike, C column is Suzy, 3 row is Suzy...). So B3 (Mike x Suzy) should be the same value as C2 (Mike x Suzy). If I have B3 be the cell where I input value, and C2 "=B3", fine. Problem is dragging that C2 formula down the 2 row... should end up with D2 =B4, E2 =B5, F2 =B6, etc etc. Doesn't want to do that. Starting off with C2 "=$B3" doesn't work either, dragging that is just pulling " = $B3" everywhere even though the $ should only be locking column reference?

What am I missing?
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
41,800
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Welcome to the MrExcel board!

Is this, copied to the right what you are looking for?

Excel Workbook
ABCDE
1MikeSuzyKenAnn
2Mike abc
3Suzyxx
4Ken
5Annabc
Transpose
 

Chicken Champ

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2019
Messages
3
Woof, that works, for generating all the "Mike x Suzy etc" stuff in row 2, but I don't really understand what the "COLUMNS($B2:C2)" and " &"" " is doing. I tried to guess that I would step down to "Suzy x Ken etc" with =INDEX($C3:$C5,COLUMNS($C3:D3))&"" things don't quite work the same?
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
41,800
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Woof, that works, for generating all the "Mike x Suzy etc" stuff in row 2, but I don't really understand what the "COLUMNS($B2:C2)" and " &"" " is doing. I tried to guess that I would step down to "Suzy x Ken etc" with =INDEX($C3:$C5,COLUMNS($C3:D3))&"" things don't quite work the same?
If you put your suggested formula in D3 in the above layout (that is, the first cell to the right of the diagonal in row 3) then it works for me. :)

Excel Workbook
ABCDE
1MikeSuzyKenAnn
2Mikexxabc
3Suzyxx S-A
4KenS-K
5AnnabcS-A
Transpose


Another option would be to keep referring to rows 2:5 and keep counting the columns from column B like this

Excel Workbook
ABCDE
1MikeSuzyKenAnn
2Mikexxabc
3Suzyxx S-A
4KenS-K
5AnnabcS-A
Transpose
 

Chicken Champ

New Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2019
Messages
3
Oh I see, "COLUMNS($x:y)" is just counting number of columns and using that number to reference a row, a way of saying if you're in the second column look at the second row, etc. I still have no idea what the &"" does, but I think I've got enough to at least finish building my table.

Thank you very much!
 

Peter_SSs

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
May 28, 2005
Messages
41,800
Office Version
365
Platform
Windows
Oh I see, "COLUMNS($x:y)" is just counting number of columns and using that number to reference a row, a way of saying if you're in the second column look at the second row, etc.
Exactly. :)

I still have no idea what the &"" does,
If you don't have that and any cells in the bottom left section of the table are blank the formula would return a zero (0) instead of blank. I have taken the &"" of the end of this cell's formula for example.

Excel Workbook
ABCDE
1MikeSuzyKenAnn
2Mikexx abc
3SuzyxxS-KS-A
4KenS-K
5AnnabcS-A
Transpose
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,078,447
Messages
5,340,345
Members
399,370
Latest member
salamon

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • Problem with Radio Button's format control
    I am creating an employee evaluation template (a sample is below) Column A is the category Column B, C D, E and F will be ratings (unacceptable...
  • Last Display on userform to a Listbox
    [CODE=vba] lstdisplay.ColumnCount = 15 lstdisplay.RowSource = "A1:O600000" [/CODE] So when i do this it Displays everything on the sheet i am...
  • Rename and move files to a new location
    Dear all, I have an excel file with the following information. The actual file name is at column A but i want to rename it using the following...
  • Help with True/False Formula
    Hello! Am stumped how to fix this formula, in which my result returns 'True', but it should return False. =IF(AG2=True...
  • Clear extra characters from a provided range of cells
    Dear All, I have following code which gives me desired output to remove extra characters from a provided range. But it takes too much time when...
  • Help with Current and highest streaks
    Hi there, I've just joined the forum and this is my first post. I've already spent quite a bit of time searching the net and this forum for a...
Top