Can Range's target be a cell value or a vlookup?

Bambiontoast

I am new to VBA, and tried to find something on google that would teach me how to change a value in my sheet. I found this code:

Code:
[COLOR=#252C2F][FONT=Helvetica]Range("A1").Value = 1+Range("A1").Value[/FONT][/COLOR]

Now, this is exactly what I'm looking for - BUT - I need the "A1" to not be a static cell address, but take the cell address from a value found in a cell.

For example, say A1 contains the below formula:

Code:
=CELL("address",INDEX(B5:D11,MATCH(G6,B5:B11,0),2))

This formula returns the address of a cell, and my goal is to increase the value of the cell found at this address by 1 by pressing a button.

How do I tell VBA to either:
- Use the value of a specific cell and convert that into a Range object (i.e. above formula returns value 'C10', I therefore want to increase value in cell C10 by 1)
- Perform a Vlookup or Index type function itself to find the correct cell to change, based on lookup value G6

I would prefer the former option since I want to keep as much to formulas as possible, but if there is a far easier way to do all of this in code (i.e. skipping the =Cell("address") function) then that would also be fine. If the best way to achieve this is through code alone, could you please explain the critical parts of the code so I can understand how to change or adapt it as required.

Thanks a lot!

,0),2))

Excel Facts

Workdays for a market open Mon, Wed, Friday?
Yes! Use "0101011" for the weekend argument in NETWORKDAYS.INTL or WORKDAY.INTL. The 7 digits start on Monday. 1 means it is a weekend.
Code:
dim celladd as string
celladd = range("A1")
[COLOR=#252C2F][FONT=Helvetica]Range(celladd).Value = 1+Range(celladd).Value[/FONT][/COLOR]

Upvote 0
Im not sure if ive missed something by these replies but i think the op wants to add 1 to an offset of a found cell? Anyways this is relatively simple to understand if that is the case.

Code:
Dim c As Range, sh As Worksheet