Copy and Past to Active Cell

Zacariah171

I have the range A1:A31 (for the days of the month). I have equipment that I rent out and the unit number will be entered in one of those cells, whichever day it was sent out. I'd like to be able to select another cell in that range and copy that unit number to the cell I selected. For example, if "302" was entered in cell A6 and I knew to expect that unit back by the 29th, I'd normally just copy and paste 302 to cell A29 and reformat A29 with a border and a fill color. I've got the border and fill part down but how would I select a cell (in this case, A29), find the first cell containing a value that is to the left of my selected cell (in this case, A6), and then return that value to my selected cell (A29)? Any help is much appreciated. I'm very new to all of this.

Excel Facts

How to calculate loan payments in Excel?
Use the PMT function: =PMT(5%/12,60,-25000) is for a $25,000 loan, 5% annual interest, 60 month loan.
I have the range A1:A31 (for the days of the month). I have equipment that I rent out and the unit number will be entered in one of those cells, whichever day it was sent out. I'd like to be able to select another cell in that range and copy that unit number to the cell I selected. For example, if "302" was entered in cell A6 and I knew to expect that unit back by the 29th, I'd normally just copy and paste 302 to cell A29 and reformat A29 with a border and a fill color. I've got the border and fill part down but how would I select a cell (in this case, A29), find the first cell containing a value that is to the left of my selected cell (in this case, A6), and then return that value to my selected cell (A29)? Any help is much appreciated. I'm very new to all of this.

So from what i can gather from your post you're trying to find a unit number in a different workbook/sheet and return the value next to it?
Cuz all i see are ranges of A and no mentions of other sheets.