Data connection opening read-only files on refresh

andybrown115

Hi there

First time posting a question – I’m usually a scavenger on this (and other) forum and always seem to find an answer to my question. This time, I’m stumped.

This is my first time using data connections, but a brief outline of the setup. There are more connections, but the issue is the same across them all, so for simplicity let’s just say:

Excel workbook (Dashboard) is run on a separate computer displaying on an office TV, with a data connection to a separate worksheet (KPIs) that is open on my desktop at my desk.

The dashboard workbook has two worksheets: The first is the dashboard itself, which has a simple index/match to worksheet1. Worksheet1 contains a table which comes from a data connection to the KPI workbook. Ideally, I wanted to have the data connection on the dashboard refresh every (say) 30 mins, so I can update and save the KPI workbook at my desk. Both files being open at the same time.:biggrin:

My first issue was that if the dashboard was open already, then it would ‘lock’ the KPI sheet. I got around that by this helpful post HERE – opening the data connection as an MS Query rather than an existing connection to an excel file. That solved that. :cool:

My issue now is that when the data attempts to refresh on the dashboard, it refreshes the data no problem, but also opens up a read-only version of the KPI workbook. When I try to refresh again, the data ‘seems’ to want to take the data from the newly-opened read-only workbook rather than querying/referencing the actual KPI workbook itself.:(

I’m sure I’m doing something wrong here, but just can’t see for the life of me what it is. How do I have the dashboard refresh its data without reopening any data connections as read-only files? Any help is greatly appreciated by me and – on account of my stress levels – my wife. :confused:

Thanks
Andrew