Excel 365 Pro-Plus performance issues

davidweingartz

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
9
Excel Performance Issues
Microsoft Excel regularly crashes when working in large workbooks(although this appears to happen in normal sized workbooks) with the Error Message: 'There isn't enough memory to complete this action. Try using less data or closing other applications. To increase memory availability, consider: -Using a 64-bit version of Microsoft Excel. -Adding memory to your device'
At times memory usage for excel spike to 1.5gb or RAM or higher. We did not previously encounter this behavior with Office 2007 32-bit. As a standard we use 4gb of ram in our laptops. I have also had reports of this happening on machines with 8gb RAM or more. I have disabled hardware graphics acceleration for one of the users impacted with no improvement.
Any help would be appreciated.
 

cyrilbrd

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
3,845
Hi, just curious as I encountered similar problem with some workbook last year.
Updated Excel to latest version and rebuilt workbook solved the situation.
May I ask what is the size of your large dataset?
 

davidweingartz

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
9
our working file is 16mb, however we are linking to a historical data file which is about 300mb. rebuilding the workbooks isn't really an option as this is a living file and is linked to quite a few other datasets.
 

cyrilbrd

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
3,845
our working file is 16mb, however we are linking to a historical data file which is about 300mb. rebuilding the workbooks isn't really an option as this is a living file and is linked to quite a few other datasets.
Are you using PowerPivot to extract your analysis? Or are you using formulae?
 

davidweingartz

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
9
I believe that many of our files are using formulae. However, this issue appears to happen with small, new worksheets with little to no formulae.
 

cyrilbrd

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
3,845
You mentioned excel 2007, is this the current version you are using?
 

cyrilbrd

Well-known Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
3,845
You mentioned excel 2007, is this the current version you are using?
 

davidweingartz

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2015
Messages
9
We are in the process of upgrading from 2007 to 2013(365 pro plus) nearly all test users have reported performance issues following the upgrade.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,081,989
Messages
5,362,581
Members
400,683
Latest member
LogChief

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • populate from drop list with multiple tables
    Hi All, i have a drop list that displays data, what i want is when i select one of those from the list to populate text from different tables on...
  • Find list of words from sheet2 in sheet1 before a comma and extract text vba
    Hi Friends, Trying to find the solution on my task. But did not find suitable one to the need. Here is my query and sample file with details...
  • Dynamic Formula entry - VBA code sought
    Hello, really hope one of you experts can help with this - i've spent hours on this and getting no-where. .I have a set of data (more rows than...
  • Listbox Header
    Have a named range called "AccidentsHeader" Within my code I have: [CODE]Private Sub CommandButton1_Click() ListBox1.RowSource =...
  • Complex Heat Map using conditional formatting
    Good day excel world. I have a concern. Below link have a list of countries that carries each country unique data. [URL...
  • Conditional formatting
    Hi good morning, hope you can help me please, I have cells P4:P54 and if this cell is equal to 1 then i want row O to say "Fully Utilised" and to...
Top