bebeck

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. MacOS
  2. Mobile
  3. Web
Good Morning All,

Hope everyone had an opportunity to view the solar eclipse today. I'm glad I took the time to do so. Anyway, Excel-wise, I am mostly self-taught and I spend time watching YouTube to find answers to my Excel "how-to" questions as well as learn new techniques and strategies to use MS Excel more effectively in my work. Speaking of work, I exist in a very software restricted environment where I cannot load useful tools like "PowerPivot" etc. [Don't mean to sound like a whiner, just stating facts] MS Excel 2010 and MS Access 2010 are my only tools at work. I am learning Access, S-L-O-W-L-Y but surely, but would like to discuss how I might use MS Excel 2010 to more efficiently handle my data collection/analysis chores as I continue my database development education. For example, I know how to construct tables in MS Excel and how to use a "Data Form" to fill-in the table. I also discovered that I can utilize a maximum of 32 "fields" (columns) in the data form, so I would need to break up current large worksheets in to "bite-sized" tables. Easy enough, I suppose, and with over a million rows available, I wouldn't run of our data-bucket space anytime soon. Also, using the "Rows" function, I was able to create a primary-key-like field in Excel (sort of) that I might be able to like to other Excel tables, if this is even possible without the addition of third party software. All-in-all, I suppose my REAL question is this: Am I wasting my time trying to beat MS Excel in to relational data base submission? Thoughts? Comments? Experience? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!

V/r,

Bruce (aka "Digital Data Minion")

Excel Facts

What is the fastest way to copy a formula?
If A2:A50000 contain data. Enter a formula in B2. Select B2. Double-click the Fill Handle and Excel will shoot the formula down to B50000.
Welcome to the Board!