invoicing spreadsheet for complete newb

Mitsy234

Hi everyone
I am looking for a little help on a project i want to undertake
i want to use excel to set up a kind of database whereas if i have got a customer and i need to send him an invoice on a certain day of the month i get alerted so i can then generate an invoice to send the customer
or if not alerted some kind of search for the date when the customer paid his first invoice and the payments are due monthly

does this make sense

excel knows todays date so it finds due invoices for this date

thanks for any help on this

Andrew

Excel Facts

Move date out one month or year
Use =EDATE(A2,1) for one month later. Use EDATE(A2,12) for one year later.
What kind of alert are you looking for, something that pops up while you're working on other things, or just something in the spreadsheet that highlights the customers that need attention on this date?

'plash

Upvote 0
just something in the spreadsheet that highlights the customers that need attention on this date to get me started off with the project i have over 200 customers in mind so preferably it would be nice to have the invoice due customers by date show on a new worksheet to save scrolling down the page checking

Upvote 0
So, lots of ways you could do this. I'll assume you already have a list of your customers, and somewhere in that list is an invoice date for each one (like, column for customer name, column for date, columns for other info for each customer...)
Depending on what date information you have already in your list, you might want to add an additional Invoice_Day column, calculated from each customer's first invoice date perhaps using the =DAY() function, and use that column to filter your list.
You could use Conditional Formatting to highlight any customer who's bill date matched today's date, then sort by cell color (or whatever formatting you used) to bring those customers to the top of the list.