Macro to Split Up a Column

Mister_J

I could really use some help creating a macro. I am still a beginner when it comes to creating macros but I have managed to piece a couple together with the record function and making some tweaks here and there. But what I’m asking for is WAY over my head.

What I’d like to create is a command that will take a column of numbers, and divide them up into separate columns based on a number that I provide.

Example:
If I have a spreadsheet with 500 numbers in column A and I would like to split that up into 5 columns of 100 numbers (i.e. 100 in column B, 100 in column C, 100 in column D…….) or if I wanted to have 10 columns of 50 (i.e. 50 in column B, 50 in column C, 50 in column D…….) this is what I’m looking for.

So with all that explained, my first question is whether it is possible? And my second is how I would even start to create something like this? I know it is a very tall order so if no one can help I totally understand. But if anyone can point me in the right direction I would be super grateful. Thanks for your time.

Excel Facts

Remove leading & trailing spaces
Save as CSV to remove all leading and trailing spaces. It is faster than using TRIM().
Input from Sheet1, output to Sheet 2
Sheet!!B1 to contain number of columns required (rows is irrelevant)

Code:
'
'   Convert Sheet1 single column to table with width k
'
Sub SingleColumnWidth()
k = Worksheets("Sheet1").Cells(1, 3)
m = 0
n = 1
Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Lastrow = Worksheets("Sheet1").Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp).Row
For i = 1 To Lastrow
m = m + 1
Worksheets("Sheet2").Cells(n, m) = Worksheets("Sheet1").Cells(i, 1)
If m = k Then m = 0: n = n + 1
Next i
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
End Sub

Upvote 0