Newbie Formula Question

Madsocks

Hi folks,

I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to Excel formulas. I'm currently in a MI reporting role and a lot of my work involves spreadsheets and I've started playing around with formulas but I just can't seem to get a specific formula and i'm not sure whether one can be used so wondering if any of you fine folk can help.

I have a spreadsheet in work and have set up two tabs; one is called pipeline where the data is, and my other sheet is where my calculations will be and data validation for the drop down list (call it sheet1)

I'm looking to use 3 specific pieces of information into a formula to work out a monetary value for a group of opportunities to aid with my MI reporting. It's a rather large spreadsheet with 917 rows and columns from A-AG but the 3 column I'm focusing on at the moment is as follows:

Column G - contains a data validation filter with 3 drop down choices (won on supply, won renewal, won pending switch)

Column R - contains a monetary value in £ for each opportunity (there are other columns similar but I'm just focusing on this one for now)

Column AD - contains a date

What I'm looking at doing is trying to obtain a total value for everything in column R that is under won on supply on column G but after the date of 01/04/17 that is shown in column AD.

The formula I was tinkering with is below (located in sheet1) after reading numerous web pages on the subject:

=SUMIF(Pipeline!AD4:AD917,">"&DATE(2017,3,31),Pipeline!R4:R917)&" "&SUMIF(Pipeline!G4:G917,"*"&A2&"*",Pipeline!R4:R917)

The A2 part is where the wording Won On Supply is located in sheet1 where the calcs/data validation info is. That formula brings out two values separated by a space but doesn't give me the actual figure I'm looking for as from what I have read the above is just two formulas bringing back two different sets of values.