Print selection code doesn

szakharov7723

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 22, 2018
Messages
76
Hello, I am trying to create a code to automatically select the range (that can vary horizontally) and print it.
I tried to use this code, but it prints only 1 page regardless the amount of pages needed to print all data in range.
And I don't even understand why it limits it to 1 page.

Code:
Sub PrintSelection()
'
    Range("A1").Select
    Range(Selection, Selection.End(xlToRight)).Select
    Range(Selection, Selection.End(xlDown)).Select
    Selection.PrintOut
End Sub
 

szakharov7723

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 22, 2018
Messages
76
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

Well I didn't finish the post, but stupid Tab triggered with no cursor and selected the post thread while I was pressing Enter. In general question in body is the same I just didn't finish the title and now I cannot edit it.
 

JoeMo

MrExcel MVP
Joined
May 26, 2009
Messages
16,663
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

Have you tried stepping through your code to see if it selects the entire range you want to print? If it doesn't, here's an alternative you can try:
Code:
Sub PrintSelection()
ActiveSheet.PageSetup.PrintArea = Selection.Address
ActiveWindow.SelectedSheets.PrintOut Copies:=1, Collate:=True, _
        IgnorePrintAreas:=False
End Sub
 

MARK858

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
11,451
Office Version
365, 2010
Platform
Windows, Mobile
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

What happens with...

Code:
Sub PrintSelection()
    With ActiveSheet.PageSetup
        .PrintArea = ActiveSheet.Range("A1").CurrentRegion.Address
        .Zoom = 100
    End With
    ActiveSheet.PrintOut
End Sub
 

szakharov7723

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 22, 2018
Messages
76
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

Yes, I stopped the code before print and I see that it selects it.
 

szakharov7723

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 22, 2018
Messages
76
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

It would just print some blank pages (probably because I have invisible formuals there) And funniest thing... still will print only 1 page of real data ( which I have on more than 1 page of print)
 

MARK858

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
11,451
Office Version
365, 2010
Platform
Windows, Mobile
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

By
It would just
do you mean it did just... when I tested it.... probably just the grammar but not reading right to me.
 
Last edited:

szakharov7723

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 22, 2018
Messages
76
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

not really, but it wouldn't change the meaning. So yes that's what happened
 

MARK858

MrExcel MVP
Joined
Nov 12, 2010
Messages
11,451
Office Version
365, 2010
Platform
Windows, Mobile
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

but it wouldn't change the meaning
Yes it would, one implies that it hadn't been tested.

Afraid I have nothing to add currently as the code I posted printed out 3 pages with my data so unless you can provide any other info I don't know why it isn't printing the full area.
 
Last edited:

szakharov7723

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 22, 2018
Messages
76
Re: Print selection code doesn't work properly

or gives the outcome of what will happen if you execute this code
 

Forum statistics

Threads
1,081,441
Messages
5,358,694
Members
400,508
Latest member
fish31

Some videos you may like

This Week's Hot Topics

  • VBA (Userform)
    Hi All, I just would like to know why my code isn't working. Here is my VBA code: [CODE=vba]Private Sub OKButton_Click() Dim i As Integer...
  • List box that changes fill color
    Hello, I have gone through so many pages trying to figure this out. I have a 2020 calendar that depending on the day needs to have a certain...
  • Remove duplicates and retain one. Cross-linked cases
    Hi all I ran out of google keywords to use and still couldn't find a reference how to achieve the results of a single count. It would be great if...
  • VBA Copy and Paste With Duplicates
    Hello All, I'm in need of some input. My VBA skills are sub-par at best. I've assembled this code from basic research and it works but is...
  • Macro
    is it possible for a macro to run if the active cell value is different to the value above it
  • IF DATE and TIME
    I currently use this to check if date has passed but i also need to set a time on it too. Is it possible? [CODE=vba]=IF(B:B>TODAY(),"Not...
Top