Sort function crashing now in new 365, help?

bmoremick

Hello I am new to VBA and Excel so please excuse my ignorance on some terminology. My boss uses Excel 7 and I use 365, his code that he has used for 10 years for the Sort function is as follows.

Range("A1:A14").Sort Key1:=Range("A1"), Order1:=xlAscending, Header:=xlYes

or

Range("E1", "F" & b * 2).Sort Key1:=Range("E1"), Order1:=xlAscending, Key2:=Range("E1"), Order2:=xlAscending, Header:=xlYes

This simple one line has worked in hundreds of routines. But now with the new 365 this line of code seems to be bombing out. And when I record a macro for Sort, the code is now several lines longer. Has anyone else run into this issue? Or does someone know a simple way to to condense the new code so that it can remain as one line and not crash in 365?

Thank you.

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
Welcome to the forum.

Why are you sorting by the same key twice?

Upvote 0
1. How is variable b created and where does it get its value?
- try inserting this line immediately above your line to determine the value of variable b
Code:
MsgBox [B]b[/B]
- MsgBox should return a positive integer
- if MsgBox does not show or it returns alpha or an error, then that is your issue

I use 365 and both lines run unchanged without any problem
Code:
Sub TestIt()
    Dim b As Integer
    b = 20
    Range("E1", "F" & b * 2).Sort Key1:=Range("E1"), Order1:=xlAscending, Key2:=Range("E1"), Order2:=xlAscending, Header:=xlYes
End Sub

Code:
Sub TestIt2()
    Range("A1:A14").Sort Key1:=Range("A1"), Order1:=xlAscending, Header:=xlYes
End Sub

Last edited:
Upvote 0
Sorry my typo, it is just an example but should read

Range("E1", "F" & b * 2).Sort Key1:=Range("E1"), Order1:=xlAscending, Key2:=Range("F1"), Order2:=xlAscending, Header:=xlYes

Upvote 0