Unique ID field based on other fields entered in a record

JAccess1706

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi,

Firstly, thanks for taking the time. I am extremely new to Access, so hopefully this makes some sense.

I have a table with some address details and I want to generate a Unique ID (either in the ID field or a new field) which relates back to the initials entered into the "State" field.

This is what I currently have:

1700841520818.png

This is the sort of thing I want to do:

1700841610451.png

I have no idea how to make the "ID" column automatically assign the state as a prefix and assign the next avaliable nubmer. Is this even possible?

Thanks

Excel Facts

How to show all formulas in Excel?
Press Ctrl+` to show all formulas. Press it again to toggle back to numbers. The grave accent is often under the tilde on US keyboards.
I would have a tblSates that holds all the States.
Then I would use the ID for the respective state in wherever the state is required.
So an address table would have a foreign key (FK) of the ID from the states table for whatever state it was in.

Upvote 0
I would have a tblSates that holds all the States.
Then I would use the ID for the respective state in wherever the state is required.
So an address table would have a foreign key (FK) of the ID from the states table for whatever state it was in.
Thanks for the reply. I just need a little bit extra clarification.

Point 1 - got it. New table created

1700843419858.png

A bit lost after this. FK are new to me.

Thanks

Upvote 0
It can be done by writing some vba code. You put the code in the before insert event on the form where you enter the data.
But........... why do you need such an ID? What is wrong with what you have?

Upvote 0
It can be done by writing some vba code. You put the code in the before insert event on the form where you enter the data.
But........... why do you need such an ID? What is wrong with what you have?
Could you show/teach me how?