VBA form question/guidance

mbosch17

Hey there, new to the forum. Been working on an excel project and I am having some difficulty figuring out how to go about what I need to do.

What I am trying to build is a program that lets a user select various options as they build a vehicle. And by selecting one engine, it grays out all other engine options. And so on down the list. And as the user is building, I would like to have a running total so they can see how much money they are currently at.

I would also like the ability to minimize sub assemblies once they are complete. For example, when the user is done with exterior options, all the options minimize and all you see is the subtotal for that sub assembly.

Is VBA and forms the correct way to go about this? I have a degree in mechanical engineering, but coding was always like an alien language to me. Is this something I can teach myself with some patience and a good book? Or am I diving in way over my head?

Any help, guidance, advice, warnings, etc. are very much appreciated!!

Thank you.

Excel Facts

Workdays for a market open Mon, Wed, Friday?
Yes! Use "0101011" for the weekend argument in NETWORKDAYS.INTL or WORKDAY.INTL. The 7 digits start on Monday. 1 means it is a weekend.
Gosh! Tricky one!

How much time do you have any what is the significance of error? If you have a real commercial dependency on this then I reckon you should pay someone to help you. Excel might not be the best application for this either. I can't say if it is or not, but a professional should be able to give you some guidance, provided that you give a good specification for what you are after.

But you seem to be on the right track. What you describe could be achieved using userforms and controls. I don't know where the parts and costs are stored. Perhaps that data belongs in a database (SQL), and hence you now have additional complexity to contend with.