VBA to create XML Ribbon file

Jake Blackmore

Board Regular
Hi I am very new to XML and I believe I am missing some fundamental knowledge with the way Excel loads them.

I've created an XML file in VBA using the following script on an Open event. The script seems ok as the tab is gerenated in the ribbon but that's about it. It doesn't seem to be in anyway active or actually loaded because it doesn't even attempt to call the macro.

HTML:
Option Explicit
Public g_blnStockDownLoad As Boolean
Public g_rxIRibbonUI As IRibbonUI

Public Sub OpenTableManager()
    Dim lngFile         As Long 'next file number available for use by the FileOpen function
    Dim strPath         As String
    Dim strFileName     As String
    Dim strRibbonXML    As String
    Dim strUser         As String

lngFile = FreeFile
    strUser = Environ("Username")
    strPath = "C:\Users\" & strUser & "\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Office\"
    strFileName = "Excel.officeUI"

'XML Coding notes each line / attribute needs a space at the end. Probably can't use .xlsb's as Binary files don't use XML
                   strRibbonXML = "<customUI xmlns=''http://schemas.microsoft.com/office/2009/07/customui'' "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "on Load=''rxIRibbonUI_on Load''> "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "<ribbon> "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "<tabs> "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "<tab id=''rxTrading'' label=''Trading''> "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "<group id=''rxDownloadStockData'' label=''Download Stock Data''> "

strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "<toggleButton id=''rxEnableDisableDowwnload'' "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "onAction=''rxToogleDownload'' "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "getLabel=''rxEnableDisableDowwnload_Label'' "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "size=''large''/>"

strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "<button id=''rxDownloadData_name'' "
    strRibbonXML = strRibbonXML & "label=''Download Names'' "