VBA to insert Pivot Table Last Refresh Date

macattackpro

Board Regular
Hi Gurus,

First, I'm fairly new to VBA but have realized it is the only way to accomplish what I'm trying to do and 100% willing to learn.

What I have is a workbook with 3 different pivot tables. I'd like for a reference above each to say when that particular pivot table has been refreshed. I've found code that will work beautifully (below) but when I view the workbook online I see that VBA does not work. So the question becomes: How do I get this code to post to the cell the refresh date of a specific pivot table?

Code:
Option Explicit
Public Function LastPvtUpdate(rngCell As Range) As Variant
Dim cPvtCell As Range
Dim pvtTbl As PivotTable
On Error Resume Next
Set pvtTbl = rngCell.Cells(1, 1).PivotTable
If Err.Number = 0 Then
   With pvtTbl
      LastPvtUpdate = .RefreshDate
   End With
Else
   LastPvtUpdate = "Error: No Pivot Table Reference!"
End If
End Function

Thanks so much for your time!

Excel Facts

Fastest way to copy a worksheet?
Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging tab for Sheet1 to the right. Excel will make a copy of the worksheet.
Is this what you are looking for?
Sheets("Your_Sheet_Name").Range("A1").Value = LastPvtUpdate

It sounds too simple, perhaps I don't understand what you are after.

Upvote 0
Hi Raven,

I think we're on the right path with that but would it work for all 3 pivot tables independently? To make matters more confusing, all 3 pivot tables are on the same sheet.

I've thought about just using the below code but it works when "any" pivot table is refreshed. I need to account for the user potentially not refreshing one of the pivot tables so being able to make this target only the pivot table that gets refreshed would be fabulous.

Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_PivotTableUpdate(ByVal Target As PivotTable)
Range("C1").Value = Now()
Range("G1").Value = Now()
Range("K1").Value = Now()
End Sub

Upvote 0