Auto-adding/removing comment & populating current date

fijibound

Hi all. I should probably start this by saying I suspect what I want to achieve requires VBA, something of which I have zero experience/knowledge, so might also need some pointers where to place any relevant code.

Currently I have an Excel doc, and I have one column setup with some simply conditional formatting. If I type 'y' unto one of these cells, it automatically turns the foreground and background of the cell red (I'm using it a bit like an on/off button to tell me this is currently in progress).

However I also need to know the date that I started the process. At the moment I am manually entering this information into a neighbouring notes field. However this slows down the process, plus as my sheet grows I'm trying to eliminate any columns I can to keep the size down.

So what I would ideally like is that when I enter any text into one of these cells, a comment will automatically be added to that cell showing the date I entered text into the cell. Then when I delete all text from the cell the comment is automatically removed.

Does anybody know a way I can achieve this?

Thanks for any help.

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
Hi & welcome to MrExcel
How about
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
   Dim d As String
   If Target.CountLarge > 1 Then Exit Sub
   If Target.Column = 1 Then
      d = Now
      Target.ClearComments
      If Target.Value <> "" Then Target.AddComment d
   End If
End Sub
This needs to go in the sheet module.
Right click the sheet tab > View code > paste the above into the window that opens up.
This will currently work on col A

Upvote 0
Hi Fluff. Thank you for your reply.

I did have further questions but right now I'm not able to get the above working, but it may be me doing something wrong through inexperience.

So this is what I've done: