Change Office display language with VBA

KeepTrying

Active Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Guys,

Small issue yet annoying: I use Excel/VBA in different languages and I'd like a solution where I run a VBA code and display language updates automatically (let's say from English to German).
I'm talking about this setting in Excel:

1594638884320.png


I assume it can be done with some API or editing appropriate registry value but I'm not a master of these stuff.
Thanks in advance for your help and have a great day.
 

Excel Facts

Excel motto
Not everything I do at work revolves around Excel. Only the fun parts.

KeepTrying

Active Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Any ideas? Maybe Jaafar the master of API-s? I need this solution sooo much.
 

Akihito Yamashiro

Board Regular
Joined
Jun 2, 2010
Messages
60
I don't think it can be done by modifying the registry alone. I tried changing the display language setting of my Japanese Excel 2016 to English.
On the way I needed to download and install from Office.com.

And the registries have been modified to be consistent with multiple registries in the following keys:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Office\16.0\Common\LanguageResources

I pasted the screenshot below.

Changing registries without knowing the relationship between multiple registries may break Excel itself.
So while one can answer the common question of how to modify the registry, I don't think anyone can answer the question of how to set the display language because nobody wants to take responsibility for breaking Excel.


1595720267707.png
 

KeepTrying

Active Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Thanks for your thoughts, you must be right. However it can happen that a solution is risky but I use it because there's no other workaround.
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
56,671
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

I have no idea if it can be done, but there are certainly problems, as pointed out by @Akihito Yamashiro.
Also I would be very unhappy (to put it mildly) if somebody changed my language settings without my knowledge or permission, especially if it resulted in Office crashing & having to do a full re-install.

Why do you need to change the users language settings?
 

KeepTrying

Active Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi Fluff,
Of course I don't want to change that setting without other's knowledge or permission. It'd be for my own purpose.
Thanks.
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
56,671
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

But why do you need to?
 

KeepTrying

Active Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
When I teach Excel (and I forgot to set original language back) it's kind of annoying to change it manually then close Excel application and restart (then of course open all workbooks again). Besides sometimes it's easier to check name of an an Excel function/formula etc. in other language by changing display language. Does it make sense? :)
 

Fluff

MrExcel MVP, Moderator
Joined
Jun 12, 2014
Messages
56,671
Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
That does make sense, yes.
However I have no idea how to edit the registry (if that's what's needed).
 

KeepTrying

Active Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2012
Messages
272
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2010
Platform
  1. Windows
I googled for it but I'm also afraid to edit Registry (mainly with VBA), it's really risky. Anyway, thanks a lot for your feedback.
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,129,804
Messages
5,638,450
Members
417,025
Latest member
MusterDuster

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top