Clear content in a dependent cell when new selection is made

JLHSolutions

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
  2. MacOS
Hello,

I have just started using Excel to track the status of our jobs. I am still learning how to do things using Excel as I came from using FileMaker. What I have right now is a List that gives me choices for the status of the job. This is in column H. In column J, I have a value list that changes depending on what is selected in column H. This part works great.

What I am trying to do is to clear the selection in Column J when the selection changes in column H. From what I can gather on Google, I need to use VB script, but I haven't been able to figure out what to use to write this code. I only want it to change the value in the current row as I am using each row for the a different job. I will have many rows visible at one time as we have lots of jobs that are in various stages.

I am hoping someone here can help me with this. I don't think its too difficult, but as I am new to doing this type of stuff in Excel, I am stumbling around trying to figure it out.

Thanks in advance.

Excel Facts

Easy bullets in Excel
If you have a numeric keypad, press Alt+7 on numeric keypad to type a bullet in Excel.
Copy and paste this macro into the worksheet code module. Do the following: right click the tab for your sheet and click 'View Code'. Paste the macro into the empty code window that opens up. You will have to modify the macro to suit your needs. The values in red are the values in column H and those in blue are the resulting values in column J. You will have to add additional "Case" statements for each additional value in column H. Close the code window to return to your sheet.
Code:
Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
    If Intersect(Target, Range("H:H")) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
    Select Case Target.Value
        Case "[COLOR="#FF0000"]a[/COLOR]"
            Target.Offset(0, 1) = "[COLOR="#0000FF"]AA[/COLOR]"