IF Function

JoeG2124

I am not a beginner, but certainly not an expert so maybe someone can help me.

Right now, I have the below Formula in column S and it is working like it is supposed to. In column S, it will populate the word "Red" "Amber" or "Green" based on the difference between the 2 dates in column H&I. Then using conditional formatting that will light up the cell (H2) Red, Amber or Green (S2 = "Green" then H2 lights up Green and so on). I have it now so that if nothing is in column I, then column S stays blank (the "" at the end of the function).

IF(I2|IF(H2|
IF(I2-H2<=13| "Red"|
IF(I2-H2<=27| "Amber"|
"Green"))|
IF(TODAY()-I2<=-28| "Green"|
IF(TODAY()-I2<=-14| "Amber"|
"Red")))|"")

Now I need to include a line for if someone puts the word "Remote" in column H, it needs to return "Green" in column S. The way I have it now CAN work, but that would mean having 2 different formulas and I want to make it so all the cells in Column S all have the same formula. With that first line added, I had to take away the "" that made column S stay blank if nothing was in column I. But I need column S to stay blank when nothing is in column I. After unsuccessfully trying to figure it out for a while, I came here.

IF(H2="Remote"|"Green"|
IF(I2|IF(H2|
IF(I2-H2<=13|"Red"|
IF(I2-H2<=27|"Amber"|
"Green")))|
IF(TODAY()-I2<=-28|"Green"|
IF(TODAY()-I2<=-14|"Amber"|
"Red"))))

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
Interesting that you have your Region settings to have Pipe (|) instead of comma.

Will this work?
Code:
=IF(I2|IF(H2="Remote"|"Green"|IF(H2|IF(I2-H2<=13| "Red"|IF(I2-H2<=27| "Amber"|"Green"))|IF(TODAY()-I2<=-28| "Green"|IF(TODAY()-I2<=-14| "Amber"|"Red"))))|"")

Upvote 0
Thank You @GR00007... that work perfectly. Sorry about the delay in responding, I just got back to this.