IF Statement HELP!?

chadshowalter

I hope that one of your Excel Geniuses can help me out with this.

I have a master product file spreadsheet. When I exported from my Content Management System into a CSV file it created one column to designate the categories each product has assigned to it. For example, "Product A" falls into categories 817, 456, 234, 081, and 450.

THE PROBLEM

I need to identify one category within this string, say Category 456.

Excel understands this column to be one number, "817,456,234,081,450"

How can I write a IF formula that would seek out ",456," and populate a new cell with a new value?

I have tried changing the format of the column to text, however, then I lose all the comas, which creates a huge mess for me, because I can't tell the categories apart from each other (some categories have 3 numbers, some have 4, etc.)

I have tried a traditional IF statement, but it will find any occurrence of 456, as in " 134,560"

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. I'm a newbie, so please be easy on me! :)

Chad

Excel Facts

Create a chart in one keystroke
Select the data and press Alt+F1 to insert a default chart. You can change the default chart to any chart type
There's probably a more sophisticated way of doing it, but this would be a quick way.
Assuming the data you want separated is in Column A
1) In another column enter this formula: =text(A1,"#,###) & copy this
formula down to all the rows you wish to convert
2) Select the entire range of cells that now have the above formula and copy/Paste Special/Values
3) Select the same range then Alt+D+E to get to the "Convert Text to Columns Wizard"
Original Data Type choose "Delimited" > Next
Delimiters check ONLY "Comma" (In Data Preview you'll see it "split" data) >Next
Destination (browse to where you want the individual segments to go) >Finish

Upvote 0