Increasing a cell value by a certain number

anestojaga

Hello! It's my first time posting here and I don't know if this question has already been asked. If that is the case, I apologize for cramping up the threads and I would be grateful if you'd provide a link to the answer to my question.

My situation is this: I have a spreadsheet that consist of 30-something rows and about a dozen columns. All but one of those columns contain certain numerical values - an integer, to be precise. Now, my problem is that these (real life) values change from time to time and I need to update my spreadsheet accordingly. This wasn't a tall task at first, but now the numbers have reached four digits and it's becoming increasingly time-consuming to add them all up. For example, a cell value is 3568 and I have to add 74 to it. Now, of course I can do the math in my head and then just type in the result... but I don't want the hassle. I wan't to save time and do my work as quickly as possible.

So, I would like to know if there was a way to do this more quickly - a built-in function, a macro I need to create, or something? I would be very grateful if someone offered a working solution. Thanks!

Excel Facts

Did you know Excel offers Filter by Selection?
Add the AutoFilter icon to the Quick Access Toolbar. Select a cell containing Apple, click AutoFilter, and you will get all rows with Apple
Which column does not contain numbers? I assume that you want to add a certain number to all the cells except those in that one column. Is that correct?

Upvote 0
Hello & Welcome to the forum,

I suppose what's easy is relative. You're given one example with is pretty easily solved.

Increase Number
  • Enter 74 in some cell >> Highlight cell >> Right click >> Copy
  • Highlight the 3568 >> Right click >> Paste Special >> Paste: Values >> Operation: Add >> OK

Upvote 0