Insert merged row into Excel, with duplication of the row(s) formatting above, using Command Button

MikeKel

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hello there!

I'm an enthusiastic if incredibly amateur Excel user- I usually just use google to figure things out but I'm hitting walls with this issue, so thank you in advance for any support or help you can offer!

I'm trying to build a feature into an Excel sheet, so that if you click on a Command Button (called +Row on this sheet), Excel will insert a new "row" into rows 107 & 108, but it will sort of just be one merged row. Essentially, it's duplicating 105+106 and inserting a copy into the two rows below, keeping all formatting etc. I'm aware that if this is possible it will lengthen the two merged yellow boxes to the right, and that's okay.

Is this possible? And if not, any ideas on how a similar thing can be achieved? I'm not precious about the merge, but the cells do need to be bigger due to the longer text my colleagues will enter into the section.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Excel query.PNG
    Excel query.PNG
    24 KB · Views: 17

Excel Facts

How to find 2nd largest value in a column?
MAX finds the largest value. =LARGE(A:A,2) will find the second largest. =SMALL(A:A,3) will find the third smallest
Hi MikeKel,

It is indeed possible, code below added to your button will do the above.

The only thing that is a potential issue is to know where the last row is to go. From your image it looks as though there are more rows below, the blue merged cell with an "X" in it. The code I've written will look for the text that is in that cell and will use the row when it finds it. You'll see in the below what to change so it can find this cell.

VBA Code:
Sub Button2_Click()

'Used to set the row number to add in the new row
Dim AddRow As Integer
'Will search each cell in column A until it finds a match
For Each i In Range("A:A")