Macro debug

dsimmons83

Hello again. I'm trying to create a macro that will reset a dashboard. So after a user is done adding their values, they can run the macro and it will give them a fresh dashboard. Could someone please let me know what I'm doing wrong? The first range will blank out some values. The second range needs to return a formula (this is what is creating the error). I'm completely new to macros and I'm trying to make my life easier. Thanks!

Sub Reset()
Range("C8,C9,C2").Value = ""
Range("E7").Formula = "=IF(SUM(C2:D6)=0,"",Formulas!H16)"
End Sub

Excel Facts

What do {} around a formula in the formula bar mean?
{Formula} means the formula was entered using Ctrl+Shift+Enter signifying an old-style array formula.
The issue is that your formula has double-quotes in it, and double-quotes are text delimiters in VBA.
So you need to double it up in VBA, like this:
Code:
Sub Reset()
    Range("C8,C9,C2").Value = ""
    Range("E7").Formula = "=IF(SUM(C2:D6)=0,"""",Formulas!H16)"
End Sub

Upvote 0
Awesome, thank you. Your code works but I don't understand why. In the IF statement, for the false option a "" should return a blank. My equation works when it isn't include in the macro. Could you please explain the need for the double quotes?

Upvote 0
Because your formula is enclosed in double-quotes.

In VBA, when denoting literal text, you use double-quotes as your text delimiter.

Try this simple test. Here is a one-line macro that returns a Message Box.
Code:
Sub MyTest()
    MsgBox "This is a test"
End Sub
Run that, and see what happens.

Now what if you try that without quotes, i.e.
Code:
Sub MyTest()
    MsgBox This is a test
End Sub
What happens?

If you don't use double-quotes to indicate literal text, it thinks it should be variables, functions, properties, etc., so you will get errors when it cannot find any of those things.