Macro to format a sheet with variable # of rows

Alex881

I'm new to Macros, but I'm trying to write one that does the same formatting (e.g., bolds columns, adds a total, adds a column, etc) regardless of the number of rows. The data I'm working with will have a different number of rows each time, but the columns remain the same. I was wondering how to go about writing one. I've used the record macro feature with relative references enabled, but I can only get decent results using data that has the exact same number of rows. If I change the data and the number of rows I'm working with, the macro doesn't work properly. Maybe there's a tutorial for this sort of thing? That would help me out a lot.

Thanks! :)

Excel Facts

Pivot Table Drill Down
Double-click any number in a pivot table to create a new report showing all detail rows that make up that number
Welcome to the forum

You can put your macro to make the adjustments and explain each of them.

Upvote 0
Code:
Sub tryn()
'
' tryn Macro
'
'
    ActiveCell.Cells.Select
    ActiveCell.Cells.EntireColumn.AutoFit [B]<--HOW DO I MAKE THE MACRO AUTOFIT EACH OF THE COLUMNS?[/B]
    ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Rows("1:1").EntireRow.Select
    ActiveWindow.FreezePanes = True [B]<--HOW DO I MAKE SURE IT FREEZES THE TOP ROW OF THE SPREADSHEET EVERY SINGLE TIME?[/B]
    ActiveCell.Offset(0, 14).Columns("A:A").EntireColumn.Select
    Selection.Delete Shift:=xlToLeft
    ActiveCell.Offset(0, -2).Columns("A:A").EntireColumn.Select
    ActiveCell.Offset(0, -4).Columns("A:A").EntireColumn.Select
    ActiveWindow.ScrollColumn = 1
    ActiveCell.Offset(1, 0).Range("A1").Select
    Selection.End(xlDown).Select
    ActiveCell.Offset(0, -1).Range("A1").Select
    ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "TOTAL" [B]<-- HERE I AM TRYING TO ADD 'TOTAL' NEXT TO THE BOTTOM OF THE SPREADSHEET'S DATA (TO THE LEFT OF THE ACTUAL TOTAL THE SS GENERATES[/B]
    ActiveCell.Range("A1:B1").Select
    ActiveCell.Offset(0, 1).Range("A1").Activate