Making an Excel Macro function across two open workbooks with changing file names.

nnhood

Hello,

I do IT for a health screening company. Basically a data review person will download a list of people who participated in a health screening event. This file lists all the people that attended and their personal information. This file name changes.

The second file is almost identical but is generated by our health screeners from our own system. This file name also changes.

We do a comparison between these two files and I'm trying to create a macro that will work no matter what the file names are. I'm not a programmer at all, macros are easy, but above that I just don't have that skill set.

So the two files would be open Book1.xls and Book2.xls
In both file we're working with Last Name, First Name, Unique ID columns, but there are many more columns present.

Book1.xls
Add column to right of Unique ID (say Column "J" for this example)
Concatenate Last Name, First Name, Unique ID Columns

Book2.xls
Add two columns to the right of Unique ID (say Columns "I" and "J" for this example)
In first column, Concatenate Last Name, First Name, Unique ID Columns (same as in Book1)
In second column, Vlookup on first cell to the left which is the concatenated value, then highlight Column "J" in Book1.xls, then add comma 1, then add false.

=VLOOKUP(E2,[Book2.xlsx]Sh<wbr>eet1!$J:$J<wbr>,1,FALSE)

It's just comparing the columns for accuracy.
I can make macro work, but then of course the file names change and that's the end of the story.

Just trying to make someones life easier as they do this all day long with different files.

Thanks for any help,
Matt

Excel Facts

Copy formula down without changing references
If you have =SUM(F2:F49) in F50; type Alt+' in F51 to copy =SUM(F2:F49) to F51, leaving the formula in edit mode. Change SUM to COUNT.