Need to insert rows with formulas in Protected Sheet

jshaffer

I am very much self taught when it comes to most things in Excel so I am not even sure if what I am trying to do is possible. I have a worksheet that is being used to track information from the production runs. I have the sheet locked and protected except for the cells I want them to be able to type in as I do not want them to adjust the formulas that are in the sheet. I also need them to be able to insert a new row in they have more than one work order that ran on that machine. I need the formulas to auto populate once a new row is inserted. I have a couple issues I am running into. First even though I have the insert row selected while the sheet is protected it isn't letting me insert any rows. Also I am not sure how to go about having the formulas auto populate once the row has been inserted. I am not sure if a Macro is the correct way to go about this. If so I am not very skilled in them or if what I am wanting to accomplished just isn't possible. If you could let me know either way that would be great. Thank you for the help!

Excel Facts

Does the VLOOKUP table have to be sorted?
No! when you are using an exact match, the VLOOKUP table can be in any order. Best-selling items at the top is actually the best.
I am not even sure if what I am trying to do is possible.

first of all everything is possible in excel
secondly i think creating a VBA code to unprotect the worksheet, do the specific changes you need from the user, and then re protect the sheet would be the best course of action for you.
that way enduser won't mess anything up thats not intended to be changed.

if you supply an example of your sheet via screenshot, direct google doc download, or using mr.excel's table maker.
as well as an example of the end result

anyone would be happy to assist you further.

Upvote 0
first of all everything is possible in excel