Power query workaround

stuartmacdonald

Can anybody help me. 2 months of support from Microsoft has got me nowhere...

I have a master document (planner) and a series of individual workbooks (timesheets x 10).

Each individual timesheet uses Power Query to generate the relevant individual tables. These tables are then referenced by Power Apps for each individual timesheet app on their phone.

In theory all good, but in practice, an excel table cannot have multiple connections, so when I change the master document the Power Query updates the query, but does not update the actual table in excel, meaning that Power Apps is referencing a static table.

The official Microsoft line on this is: The issue you are facing is known limitation that the SDK excel connector uses does not support external data connections.

Given the time I have invested into this (100+ hours), I need to find a workaround, but have hit a mental block.
Could I possibly have 2 version of each timesheet, one running the power query the other a mirrored copy which could connect to Power Apps, or would this just run into the same problem, as to create the mirrored copy I need to connect to the table?

Happy to share workbooks if anyone has any ideas....

Excel Facts

Format cells as time
Select range and press Ctrl+Shift+2 to format cells as time. (Shift 2 is the @ sign).
I'm not sure I understand the structure nor the task.
Is this correct:
- Your source data is in the master document
- Each timesheet file extracts data from Master for a particular employee using PQ
- Powerapp of each employee is tied to his own employee file and is supposed to update the PQ table in that file

Upvote 0
If the limitation is the connections, what about getting rid of power query for updating the timesheets and do that using VBA instead, then this would "free up" the one connection to the timesheets workbook for use by the phone App.

Upvote 0
Here is an image showing the crux of the problem.