Sorting/Filtering Data in excel onto a summary tab

HolyLemon

I have an excel 2007 spreadsheet at my work, its about 30 colums across and contains a couple of thousand clients, one client per row.

I'm pretty happy with it at the moment Ive done some (what I would consider) nifty stuff when it comes to summarising the data on there, stuff per month, that kind of thing.

What I need to do is create a new worksheet, on which is a little box where you can enter the members number and either hit enter or a button or something and below the number you have entered and all of the information that is on that line will show up, preferably in an order that I choose. a "data extract".

I am a VBA/macro novice, I know how to open VBA, that is it. I used it alot in school but cant remember it at all.

Any help would be so amazingly appreciated.

NB, Some of the clients have Scheme codes to say if they are in a different country whereas UK clients dont so it would need to take that into account aswell.

If you could help me I would be so grateful

Thanks again.

Harry

Last edited:

Excel Facts

Repeat Last Command
Pressing F4 adds dollar signs when editing a formula. When not editing, F4 repeats last command.
HolyLemon,

Welcome to the MrExcel forum.

What I need to do is create a new worksheet, on which is a little box where you can enter the members number and either hit enter or a button or something and below the number you have entered and all of the information that is on that line will show up, preferably in an order that I choose. a "data extract".

Please post a screenshot of your sheet(s), what you have and what you expect to achieve, with Excel Jeanie HTML 4 (contains graphic instructions).
http://www.excel-jeanie-html.de/html/hlp_schnell_en.php

Or, you can upload your workbook to www.box.net and provide us with a link to your workbook.

Upvote 0
Thanks,

Here is a link to the file.

If anyone can help me I would be really really grateful.