Excel macros are killing me!

brogi_bear

Office Version
  1. 365
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all... newbie here

I have been tasked to create a macro for HR regarding insurance bills in which i have to compare two different files- and they are not formatted the same (for example one has department codes, the other doesn't and has items in different rows and columns.) What both documents have in common though are names (first & last), the type of Premium (insurance plan type) and the total of that premium per person such as: Joe Dirt | $107.07 | Dental Plan. Although it would be ideal to replicate the dept code from one to another i can't figure how i can do that from different files. The end goal is to highlight the differences between both files and highlight in green if it matches, yellow if it doesn't match, and red if there is missing info. Does anyone know how i can achieve the end goal? or where i can start, as i cant find a formula that can meet these demands, i am starting to think it is impossible.

thanks!! I appreciate any insight and pointers!

Attachments

• help.png
    help.png
    42.5 KB · Views: 18

Excel Facts

Do you hate GETPIVOTDATA?
Prevent GETPIVOTDATA. Select inside a PivotTable. In the Analyze tab of the ribbon, open the dropown next to Options and turn it off
It would be easier to help if you could use the XL2BB add-in (icon in the menu) to attach screenshots (not pictures) of the sheets to be compared. Alternately, you could upload a copy of your file to a free site such as www.box.com or www.dropbox.com. Once you do that, mark it for 'Sharing' and you will be given a link to the file that you can post here. Explain in detail what you want to do referring to specific cells, rows, columns and sheets using a few examples from your data (de-sensitized if necessary). Also what are the full names of the files including the extension and what are the sheet names involved?

Upvote 0