Secretly store data user enteres in their excel nightmare into a well defined table without affecting how user updates their excel "report" data entry

chairt

Hi all,

I work for Acme Inc.

Acme Inc. is a box filled with the type of people who live and breath excel and use it like a swiss army knife.

I'm a vba developer.

Swiss army knife is fine, except lots of the sheets these folks work in are presented to clients and crossed referenced to other data.

The best way to describe it is that Acme Inc. loves to do data entry in excel sheets that resemble reports.

Maintaining the code that generates half a monster and a user entry form, but considered as data thing involves a lot of overhead. There can be anything anywhere, headers about different sections, column after column associated to each year, but side by side. Tables next to other tables that are difficult to grab with each other. Tables that check and validate other tables. Checks that are added to the same worksheet but way out in right field because changing the order of other checks that sometimes appear and sometimes don't causes errors.

Or to boil it all down to it's essence. Acme Inc Excel users enjoy inputting data into sheets formatted like a report that would be generated from data instead of into a place where one would enter data.

Acme Inc, has managed to maintained this madness fairly well, at the cost of the sanity of several developers I'm sure.

Is there a way to trick users into thinking they are updating their precious excel report data sheets, when in reality, their updates are stored into a sane table, and their reports are simply generated on the fly. Without too much rehashing of data.

For you see, there are 100s if not 1000s of these excel programs spread out everywhere, each doing things and formatted differently.