Jyggalag

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Messages
39
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Hi all,

I currently have this formula:

1616744515259.png


Right now the cell is showing a blank cell.

I then have another cell that links to this cell through this formula:

1616744550590.png


This cell also shows blank, because the first cell is blank.

I then have a third and final cell with this formula:

1616744590870.png


However, this cell returns the value "Not blank", which it should not, because the other two cells are both blank (specifically the second one, which this one links to).

Can somebody please help me out on how to fix this?

Thank you so much! :)

Best regards,
Jyggalag
 

Excel Facts

Select a hidden cell
Somehide hide payroll data in column G? Press F5. Type G1. Enter. Look in formula bar while you arrow down through G.

Tupe77

Board Regular
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
97
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Your index formula last part is cell reference? Are you sure it right way to do that?
 

Tupe77

Board Regular
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
97
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Today is a bad morning, I shouldn’t write anythink. I mean, are you sure of the value returned by that cell reference? Otherwise areas defined must be wrong because I think the formula itself is just right.
 

Jyggalag

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Messages
39
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Yes it does
But CODE(cell name) returns the value 48 for me. This might mean 0, but I read online that unless CODE(cell name) returns #VALUE, an if or iferror function wont return the cell as blank when you set up your conditions (but rather return it as not blank), which is why my initial question in this thread is unsolveable (unless somebody has a solution? :) )
 

Zot

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
1,171
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows

ADVERTISEMENT

But CODE(cell name) returns the value 48 for me. This might mean 0, but I read online that unless CODE(cell name) returns #VALUE, an if or iferror function wont return the cell as blank when you set up your conditions (but rather return it as not blank), which is why my initial question in this thread is unsolveable (unless somebody has a solution? :) )
What puzzled me is that you said when you type 0 in a cell, it did not disappear, meaning that the sheet is displaying 0. My default is suppressed zero value 😅
 

Jyggalag

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Messages
39
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
What puzzled me is that you said when you type 0 in a cell, it did not disappear, meaning that the sheet is displaying 0. My default is suppressed zero value 😅
Weird :( Do you know how I can fix it?
 

Zot

Well-known Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2020
Messages
1,171
Office Version
  1. 2016
Platform
  1. Windows
Time for me to go home now ... sorry cannot find out what is the problem now ..
 

Jyggalag

New Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2021
Messages
39
Office Version
  1. 365
  2. 2019
Platform
  1. Windows
Time for me to go home now ... sorry cannot find out what is the problem now ..
No worries Zot, I appreciate it anyway! :)

If anybody else has a solution, please let me know :D
 

Watch MrExcel Video

Forum statistics

Threads
1,129,943
Messages
5,639,116
Members
417,073
Latest member
CBG_Christian

We've detected that you are using an adblocker.

We have a great community of people providing Excel help here, but the hosting costs are enormous. You can help keep this site running by allowing ads on MrExcel.com.
Allow Ads at MrExcel

Which adblocker are you using?

Disable AdBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Pause on this site" option.
Go back

Disable AdBlock Plus

Follow these easy steps to disable AdBlock Plus

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the toggle to disable it for "mrexcel.com".
Go back

Disable uBlock Origin

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock Origin

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back

Disable uBlock

Follow these easy steps to disable uBlock

1)Click on the icon in the browser’s toolbar.
2)Click on the "Power" button.
3)Click on the "Refresh" button.
Go back
Top